As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

2021 Florida Fishing License Info [Super Easy]

Fishing in Florida is not that simple if you’re going by the official Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission website. Heck, we are sometimes confused and we do this for a living. We made this page to break it down for you and make it as simple as possible. Let’s see what happens!

Do You Need a Freshwater Fishing License?

If you will fish in freshwater, then yes, you need a freshwater fishing license (Florida residents and Non-residents).

Do You Need a Saltwater Fishing License? Permits?

Everyone needs a Florida Saltwater Fishing License to fish in Florida from their own boat.

SHORELINE LICENSE for Florida Residents – If fishing from shore or from something anchored to shore (bridge, pier, dock), or as part of a charter with a group fishing license, you need a FREE (sort of) Florida Shoreline License. Note, if you arrive somewhere by boat, and fish from the shore there, you are in violation of the fishing laws if you just have a Shore License. However, if you drive there and fish onshore, you are legal. I know, it’s ridiculous. If you swim out to an island and fish from shore, you are legal. If you paddlefish out to an island, or ride a jet-ski, and fish from the shore – we don’t have the slightest idea if you are legal or not. Is a paddleboard a boat? Is a jet-ski? A flotation vest? A rubber inner-tube?

Small separator.

OK, that’s it for Florida Fishing Licenses. BUT WAIT. You may still be required to get special Fishing Permits or Tags. Let’s find out.

SCROLL DOWN AND CHOOSE YOUR AGE AND RESIDENCY.

Small separator.

Age 15-and-Under Florida Resident

  1. If Saltwater Fishing, except from shore – you need a Youth Saltwater Fishing License: 1 Year ($17) or Lifetime ($301.50)

2. If Freshwater Fishing – you need a Youth Freshwater Fishing License: 1 Year ($17) or Lifetime ($301.50).

3. If you will harvest Lobster you need a Lobster Permit: 1 Year ($5) or 5 Year ($25).

4. If you will harvest Snook, you need a Snook Permit: 1 Year ($10) or 5 Year ($50).

Go HERE for your License(s) and Permit(s).

Go HERE to read all the exemptions that are possible for fishing license requirements due to age, military status, and other exemptions.

Small separator.

Age 15-and-Under Non-Florida Resident

  1. If Saltwater Fishing – you need a Youth Saltwater Fishing License: 3 Days ($17) or 7 Days ($30) or 1 Year ($47).
  2. If Freshwater Fishing – you need a Youth Freshwater Fishing License: 3 Days ($17) or 7 Days ($30) or 1 Year ($47).
  3. If you will harvest Lobster you need a Lobster Permit: 1 Year ($5).
  4. If you will harvest Snook, you need a Snook Permit: 1 Year ($10).

Go HERE for your License(s) and Permit(s).

Small separator.

Youth Under 16 years Old

Exempt from Saltwater and Freshwater Fishing requirements in Florida.

Small separator.

Age 16 – 64 and Florida Resident

  1. If Saltwater Fishing, except from shore – you need a Saltwater Fishing License: 1 Year ($17) or 5 Year ($79) or Lifetime ($301.50)
  2. If Freshwater Fishing – you need a Freshwater Fishing License: 1 Year ($17) or 5 year ($79) or Lifetime ($301.50).
  3. If Freshwater AND Saltwater Fishing you can get both at a discount for a year by paying ($32.50).
  4. If you will harvest Lobster you need a Lobster Permit: 1 Year ($5) or 5 Year ($25).
  5. If you will harvest Snook, you need a Snook Permit: 1 Year ($10) or 5 Year ($50).
  6. If you will target sharks from shore or boat, you need a shore-based shark fishing permit ($0).
  7. If you are planning to fish for OR harvest any of the following fish from a private boat, or by spearfishing, you will need to register for a special designation called the STATE REEF FISH ANGLER (free). If you are on a paid fishing charter – you don’t need this.

Mutton snapper, yellowtail snapper, hogfish, red snapper, vermilion snapper, gag grouper, red grouper, black grouper, greater amberjack, lesser amberjack, banded rudderfish, almaco jack, gray triggerfish.

Go HERE for your License(s) and Permit(s).

Small separator.

Age 16 – 64 and Non-Florida Resident

  1. If Saltwater Fishing – you need a Saltwater Fishing License: 3 Days ($17) or 7 Days ($30) or 1 Year ($47).
  2. If Freshwater Fishing – you need a Freshwater Fishing License: 3 Days ($17) or 7 Days ($30) or 1 Year ($47).
  3. If you will harvest Lobster you need a Lobster Permit: 1 Year ($5).
  4. If you will harvest Snook, you need a Snook Permit: 1 Year ($10).
  5. If you will target sharks from shore or boat, you need a shore-based shark fishing permit ($0).
  6. If you are planning to fish for OR harvest any of the following fish from a private boat, or by spearfishing, you will need to register for a special designation called the STATE REEF FISH ANGLER (free). If you are on a paid fishing charter – you don’t need this.

Mutton snapper, yellowtail snapper, hogfish, red snapper, vermilion snapper, gag grouper, red grouper, black grouper, greater amberjack, lesser amberjack, banded rudderfish, almaco jack, gray triggerfish.

Go HERE for your License(s) and Permit(s).

Small separator.

Age 65+ and Florida Resident

  1. If Saltwater or freshwater fishing, you are exempt from needing a fishing license. Exemption includes snook and lobster permits. Does not exempt you from needing a shark-fishing permit.
  2. If you will target sharks from shore or boat, you need a shore-based shark fishing permit ($0).
  3. If you are planning to fish for OR harvest any of the following fish from a private boat, or by spearfishing, you will need to register for a special designation called the STATE REEF FISH ANGLER (free). If you are on a paid fishing charter – you don’t need this.

Mutton snapper, yellowtail snapper, hogfish, red snapper, vermilion snapper, gag grouper, red grouper, black grouper, greater amberjack, lesser amberjack, banded rudderfish, almaco jack, gray triggerfish.

Go HERE for your License(s) and Permit(s).

Small separator.

Age 65+ and Non-Florida Resident

  1. If Saltwater Fishing – you need a Saltwater Fishing License: 3 Days ($17) or 7 Days ($30) or 1 Year ($47).
  2. If Freshwater Fishing – you need a Freshwater Fishing License: 3 Days ($17) or 7 Days ($30) or 1 Year ($47).
  3. If you will harvest Lobster you need a Lobster Permit: 1 Year ($5).
  4. If you will harvest Snook, you need a Snook Permit: 1 Year ($10).
  5. If you will target sharks from shore or boat, you need a shore-based shark fishing permit ($0).
  6. If you are planning to fish for OR harvest any of the following fish from a private boat, or by spearfishing, you will need to register for a special designation called the STATE REEF FISH ANGLER (free). If you are on a paid fishing charter – you don’t need this.

Mutton snapper, yellowtail snapper, hogfish, red snapper, vermilion snapper, gag grouper, red grouper, black grouper, greater amberjack, lesser amberjack, banded rudderfish, almaco jack, gray triggerfish.

Go HERE for your License(s) and Permit(s).

Florida Saltwater Fishing Guides

AmberjackBlack DrumBluefishCobiaDorado (Dolphin, Mahi-mahi), Speckled TroutGrouperGulf FlounderJack CrevalleLobsterPermitPompanoRed-bellied PacuRedfishRedfish IndexSalmon IndexShark FishingSheepsheadSnapperSnookTarponTarponTripletail. Don’t miss our new SHARK Fishing Guide.

Florida Fishing Style Guides

Deep Sea FishingShore FishingInshore Boat FishingKayak FishingPier FishingWade-fishing

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x